New Year's bowls 2019/2020

The regular college football season is over. The playoff participants and teams that will compete for victories in the most prestigious New Year's bowls are identified. For those who have failed in key games, this is a great opportunity to end the season on a major note.

Sugar Bowl

Baylor and Georgia, who lost in the finals of their conferences, will enter the Mercedes-Benz Super Dome on January 1, 2020 and play in Sugar Bowl. Until the last day, both teams retained certain chances of reaching the playoffs, but eventually lost. Baylor in overtime with a score of 23-30 lost to Oklahoma the Big-12 final, and Georgia suffered a sensitive defeat from LSU in the decisive match SEC 10-37. For the Bulldogs, the main thing will be to avoid the mistakes of the last season, when the defeat from Alabama in the final (25-38) was followed by the failure in the Sugar Bowl against Texas (21-28).

“I know that we have many players who want to get rid of the unpleasant residue left over last year. None of us won the Sugar Bowl and we want to do it, ”said Georgia head coach Kirby Smart. He also added that the entire coaching staff of the team made certain conclusions on the program for preparing for the bowls.

For Baylor, the match will be a continuation of the rebirth season led by Matt Rule. The head coach himself called the opportunity to bring his team to the field in such a game a dream come true. Rule, a former fan and graduate of Penn State, remembered watching how the Nittany Lions won the 1982 championship by defeating Georgia led by Herschel Walker in Sugar Bowl.

Orange bowl

Virginia and Florida will play at the Orange Bowl on December 30 in Miami Gardens. Programs will play against each other for the first time since 1959.

Florida got the right to play in this bowl, ending the season with a score of 10-2. Lost Geytors only Georgia and LSU. For the team, the match will be the fourth Orange Bowl in history.

“Our team had to deal with a lot of problems and injuries,” said Florida coach Dan Mullen. “I think that at the end of the season we were one of the best. And we have a chance to prove it again. ” Mullen himself became the first coach in the history of the program to begin his career with two consecutive seasons with a double-digit number of victories.

Virginia will present the ACC conference despite a sensible defeat from Clemson in the final. For the team, this will be the first Orange Bowl in history. In 1952, the Cavaliers received an invitation to the match, but then the college management refused it. Virginia completed the regular season 9-4 and, if successful, will set a program record for the number of victories.

“I am very happy for our players. This is a reward for their long and hard work for a long time, ”said University Sports Director Carla Williams.

Rose bowl

Oregon and Wisconsin will play each other in 106 in the history of the Rose Bowl. Both teams can be called regulars in this game. Wisconsin will play here for the fourth time in ten years, and Oregon for eleven.

In 2012, the teams played among themselves in Pasadena and then success was accompanied by Oregon 45-38. That match remains one of the most productive in the history of the Rose Bowl.

Wisconsin won the battle for the right to play at the Grandpa of all bowls against Penn State. Both teams finished the season with the same result, but in favor of the Badgers a good performance in the final of the conference against the Ohio State affected.

“For many of our players, this will be a great experience and another opportunity to play against a strong team. You can only dream about it, ”said one of the Wisconsin trainers, Paul Christ.

Oregon will play in the Rose Bowl for the fourth time in eleven years under the guidance of a third coach. The team won two victories in the previous three games. For the first time in five years, Dax won the conference. The previous visit to Pasadena took place in 2014. Then Oregon, led by Marcus Mariotte, beat Florida State with a score of 59-20.

“Our graduates remain focused on achieving the goal and do not deviate from the course. Thanks to this, our team is having a great season, ”said team coach Mario Cristobal.

Cotton Bowl

Memphis, who won the AAC tournament, will represent Group 5 in Cotton Bowl. The team finished the season with a result of 12-1 and now will face off against Penn State (10-2). The game will take place on December 28 at the home arena of Dallas Kauboys, AT&T Stadium.

An outstanding four-year period Memphis completed the first ever hit in the New Year's bowl. Team head coach Mike Norwell has already decided on his future and is heading to work with Florida State. It is assumed that in the bowl he will serve as a consultant, and the leadership of the team’s game will fall on the shoulders of Ryan Silverfield.

“We continue to move forward and focus on preparing for the bowl,” Silverfield said.

For Penn State, this will be the fourth Cotton Bowl, but the team has not played in it since 1975, when it beat Baylor 41-20. In total, it will be the fiftieth anniversary bowl of the Nittany Lyons. James Franklin, the head coach of the team, in each of the six seasons of his work, led his team to postseason matches. The university management appreciated his merits and has already extended his contract for the next six years.

“We are delighted with this opportunity. I myself have never played in the Cotton Bowl. And we all look forward to getting into Jerry’s world, ”Franklin shared his emotions.

For Memphis, this bowl will be the sixth in a row and the twelfth in history.

There is another interesting match. Alabama, which is unusually absent from the New Year's bowls and playoffs, will play in Citrus Bowl against Michigan on January 1, 2020. For Crimson Tide, this will be the first Citrus Bowl since 1995 when they beat the Ohio State. Michigan will play here for the sixth time and the total score of the team at the moment is 4-1.